The Old Stone Jail Museum The Holland Page Place Walking Tour of Historic Palmyra
About Us
Contact Us
In the News

About Us

Founded in 1964, the Fluvanna County Historical Society is an incorporated non-profit organization dedicated to the collection and preservation of manuscripts, documents, and materials relating to the history of Fluvanna County; to protecting, preserving and promoting the historic, cultural, natural, architectural and archaeological  heritage of Fluvanna County; to facilitating research and presenting historical programs, exhibitions and other activities relating to the area’s heritage; and to publishing its research in a series of annual bulletins and newsletters.

The Society operates the Old Stone Jail Museum in Palmyra as a center for learning about Fluvanna’s history.  The Society also owns the Village Park adjacent to the Palmyra Post Office, where a map of historic Palmyra is available.  In addition the Society owns the Palmyra Mill which will soon be converted into an historic park, and the Holland-Page Place on Courthouse Road is also owned and operated by the Society.  Holland-Page Place is a log cabin built in 1865, which the Society recently restored and received an award for its restoration.  It is open to visitors by appointment.

Membership in the Society is open to everyone and costs just $25 a year for a family membership.  You can find membership information on the Membership page. Should you want to contact our archives at Maggie’s House, please call 434-589-7910.  Our Director, Tricia Johnson, is available to answer your questions Monday through Wednesday.  You may also contact her by email.  

Maggie’s House is located in the center of Fluvanna’s county seat, Palmyra.  It is next to the Old Stone Jail Museum and the county administration building.  Parking is available in the vicinity.  Handicap parking is available in the parking of the new Courthouse and in front of Maggie’s House. See our Contact page for more information.

Fluvanna County Historical Society Executive Committee
Officers – 2015

President – Marvin Moss
1st Vice President – Deborah Murdock
Recording Secretary – Kathy Brent
Corresponding Secretary – Euxine Faix
Director - Tricia Johnson


Site by Bald Guy Studio Fluvanna County Historical Society